MENTOR SESSION: If you don’t build your dreams, someone will hire you to help build theirs.

89e73860773f6a12593de80882ee2cac

I had my another session with my mentor last night…

It is great to catch up with someone outside work but still in the industry and get their opinion and advice. I told him what happened in my 1 year appraisal and he asked me when I become a manger, do I want to follow his management style- I said no, so he said that may be best for me to go somewhere else where I am given the opportunity to grow and move up.

I don’t mind getting thrown in the deep end, I am happy to figure out a way out & I love swimming 🙂 I just want to be given a chance to see my boss plan the strategy or work through Clients budgets with him- I don’t expect him to just let me run a strategy session straight up but as long as I can see I will once I get the experience then the motivation is there!

So now I just need to figure out what to do:

  • Stay working in an Advertising Agency, but maybe work for bigger agency where the career progression is laid out
  • Work part time in advertising or Client side marketing & try to become a public speaker about my experience with bipolar, this would give me the skill of setting up my own business/ website etc the only thing is I am not a celebrity or personality so would people want to listen to me
  • I could go work Client side marketing full time – my mentor said if my passion is advertising it is sometime hard to come back into advertising a higher level once being out of it. Although client side pays more than agency??

So I need to really thing about it as I don’t want to be in the same position in a years time.

xxxfbm

Leave a Reply

