A Skill

it_photo_124198

I sometime feel I don’t have a skill……

Yes I work everyday, and I know its not true but it is hard to tangibly put what I do in one package. You can show what a plumber does…

I work in advertising so yes I can show you the creative output but I am not a creative, I can show you the booked media schedule but I don’t work in media. I work in Client Service, some people call us the go between or paper pusher. I meet with the Clients, interrupt what they want, then brief the creatives and then present the creative back to the Client. Obviously you have to proof the artwork, get approvals, stick to media deadlines etc

For new clients we always have a half day strategy session. I find this really interesting as you really get to know the client and it produces better results both creatively and through sales.

I do think some of the other tasks are a like admin or being good at organisation but Strategy and brief writing I think is a skill and I think this is why I want to develop them.

xxxfbm

Leave a Reply

